Skip to content

My Homework Assignment

January 3, 2014

I’m breaking from my usual Sunday night routine to answer a request from my colleague Michael Podraza (@EGHSPrincipalRI) to complete a homework assignment.  So here goes.

Part 1- 11 Random Facts About Myself

1) I’m originally from Rhode Island, born and raised.

2) I got my bachelor’s in History and Secondary Education from Stonehill College and my Master’s in Secondary School Administration from Providence College.

3) I taught history in Barrington, RI for seven years.

4) I’ve been principal of North Smithfield High School for the past 5 years.

5) I grew up consumed by sports, playing soccer, hockey and baseball and also coaching hockey and baseball in Barrington.

6) I come from a family of educators (my parents are both educators and my sister is currently a teacher).  Also my wife is a counselor at Barrington HS, which is where we met.

7) I have two beautiful kids, Ella (age 3) and Luke (age 1).  Spending quality time my family is what I value most.

8) I’m a big believer that attitude (not wealth or achievement) is the most important predictor of fulfillment and happiness.

9) It is absolutely necessary for me to surround myself with positive people who enjoy life and possess the right values.

10) I believe that relationships are what drive all meaningful school initiatives.  Education is a people business, and without establishing and maintaining relationships of trust and respect nothing of value can be accomplished.

11) It might sound cliched, but I absolutely love what I do and at this point cannot picture myself doing anything else.

Part 2- Answers to Questions from Nominating Blogger

  1. Who is your favorite author right now? Doris Kearns Goodwin (currently reading Team of Rivals)
  2. What is your favorite season and why? Fall- colors and weather
  3. In your opinion, what is the best TV series of all time? Drama- Breaking Bad; Comedy- Seinfeld
  4. Who is your favorite teacher from your childhood and why? Mrs. Vincent (HS math)- she took an interest in who I was
  5. If you could have any vehicle, what would it be? Audi
  6. If you could wake up tomorrow and have one thing immediately change about school/education, what would it be? alternative to traditional high school scheduling
  7. Dogs or cats? Dogs
  8. If you could eliminate/change 1 rule in your favorite sport, what would it be? There’s no reason why baseball should have the designated hitter in one league and not the other.  The National League needs to adopt the DH.
  9. If you could become an expert in any field/skill, that you currently have NO experience with, what would it be? Playing music
  10. If you could have a superpower what would it be? Flying would be cool
  11. The best part about being in education right now is…? The relationships

Part 3- List 11 Bloggers

1) George Couros

2) Peter DeWitt

3) Eric Sheninger

4) Joe Mazza

5) Chris Wejr

6) Jesse McLean

7) Katherine Mann

8) Shannon Smith

9) Sandra Trach

10) Michael Podraza

11) Timothy Chace

Part 4- List 11 Questions for Nominees to Answer

1) Who’s your favorite band/musician?

2) What was your favorite subject in school and why?

3) What was your least favorite subject in school and why?

4) Who’s your role model?

5) If you could have dinner with anyone (dead or alive) who would it be?

6) What is one talent/skill that you excel at?

7) What’s your favorite movie of all time?

8) What inspired you to become an educator?

9) What are the three most essential qualities a teacher must possess?

10) What’s your favorite thing to do to relax?

11) The most rewarding part of my job is…?

If You Were Nominated or Want to Join In Here Are the Guidelines for Your Homework…

  • Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  • List 11 bloggers.
  • Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.
  • Finally- Post back here (in the comment section) with a link to your finished assignment. Go on, you have homework to do.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

